Blogging: It’s Complicated

Every so often I write about how I’m impressed that I actually kept up with this whole blog thing. I’m sure it doesn’t seem like much effort for you, the reader, but for ME, The Author, it is. Whenever I start getting sick of something I love, I realize it’s because I somehow made it into work. I chose my first major in college because it was something I enjoyed doing in my spare time. I thought I would LOVE doing it all the time. Except. I didn’t. I suddenly dreaded it. I hated that I had to do it. More recently, it happened with a side business that my friend and I started. It was something I liked doing on the side, but thanks to my friend’s hard work, it turned into this huge thing. I’m super happy about it, but I’ve actually stepped aside and am currently trying to figure out how I fit better into the business.

You’ve probably noticed some spotty posting in the past few months. I think I’ve even explained it before…how last summer I had NOTHING to do, so I started a blog…well this summer I have EVERYTHING to do. At first I thought I’d take some time during my (brief) vacation to write some posts and get ahead, but that didn’t happen. And then whenever I’d decide to check on my blog, I would just feel overwhelmed about the fact that I got behind and didn’t want to do anything…clearly it was a bad cycle to get into. On top of falling behind with my own personal projects, I was also starting to fall behind at work! Today I finally just sat down, turned on the Pandora (something that’s been missing the past few weeks) and got to work. I banged out today’s to do list in just a few hours!!

For those of you in student affairs, you all know that August is a busy time so I can’t promise three entries a week, but I will do my best to schedule time to work on it! I do enjoy writing…even about the difficult and stressful stuff!

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “Blogging: It’s Complicated

  1. J. Parker says:

    Ugh, I know the feeling. I’m juuust finishing up my last summer classes EVER and was so swamped that I had to hold myself to a strict blogging ban so I could really get to work on the important stuff. Priorities… We’ve all got ’em!
    Don’t worry, we’ll all still be here when you get back! 😉

  2. twyf says:

    Ditto to what J. Parker said. 🙂 Between work and applications and trying to relax, blogging kind of falls by the wayside for me. Sometimes I need the right combination of inspiration and motivation; without one, the other is useless.

Leave a Reply

