A Lilly P. Update

One of my more popular posts has been about this year’s Lilly Pulitzer Warehouse Sale. Apparently there’s a lot of Lilly P. fans out there that I didn’t know about, including some of my friends! It seems that I have become the Lilly P./preppy expert in my group of friends and everybody constantly has questions, mostly about how I can afford these things!

Special Purchases

Lilly dresses are a big splurge for me…I either get them as gifts or purchase one for a special occasion. However, I RARELY pay full price for something. The brick-and-mortar stores do have items marked down, so definitely check them out! Also, if you do live close to a store or happen to find one in your travels, definitely pop in and try some things on, that way if you do go to purchase something online, you know what size(s) you are.

Warehouse Sale

I’ve already done a whole post on How to Warehouse, but I’ll just put a few things here. Typically, the warehouse sale happens at the beginning of June and the beginning of December BUT this year, shortly before the June sale, the company announced that it would be the ONLY warehouse sale of the year. Huge disappointment for many people out there. If you missed this year’s warehouse sale, mark your calendars for June 5 – 7 2014 for the next one!

Online Sale

I’m not a huge fan of following companies on Facebook…I just don’t need to be bombarded with updates about your products or weekly announcements about your “fabulous” deals. That being said, I make an exception for Lilly Pulitzer. The company uses their Facebook and blog to show off new prints and products and advertise upcoming events including major sales! Every so often they have this HUGE online sale with warehouse sale prices. Unfortunately, it’s not just something you can stumble upon…things tend to go fast! Since I tend to be in between sizes, I use these sales to buy shirts and accessories. I know I said at the most recent warehouse sale that I tend to stick to dresses, but I have a few printed Lilly shirts that I wear with a solid cardigan and dark pants.

Re-Lilly

Some brilliant woman on Facebook came up with the idea to start Re-Lilly, a group that you can buy and sell gently used Lilly Pulitzer clothing. Many times the items haven’t been used at all! One thing to warn you…it CAN overwhelm your news feed if the group owner is posting a lot of items at once. Also, you will be buying directly from the seller. I haven’t purchased anything yet, but one of my friends did try to buy a bag. I think it had already been snatched up by the time she emailed the owner.

Ebay

If there is a particular item you are looking for, check Ebay. This can really be said about any designer/brand. While I haven’t bought anything Lilly off of Ebay, I went through a phase five years ago where I bought designer handbags off of Ebay. My bank account does NOT miss that phase!

It doesn’t HAVE to be Lilly…

You don’t need to wear Lilly Pulitzer clothes to get the Lilly-vibe down. You can head to Target and pick up the basics…classic shorts and skirts, bright colored-ts and cardigans, scarves, flats. (Side note: I bought THE most comfortable flats there the other day…) I wind up pairing my Lilly items with non-Lilly items all the time.

What’s your favorite way to get designer items without spending all your money? Leave your suggestions in the comments! Happy Shopping!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “A Lilly P. Update

  1. sanam says:

    I’ve heard a lot about Lily P. recently, they certainly look great for colourful dresses!

    And to get my hands on some designer stuff I ALWAYS go to places with sales, or try and find something a few seasons old (tk maxx are great for this) 😉

    A Chic Lifestyle

Leave a Reply

