The Benefits of Living On

Now that job search season is in full swing, I thought I’d touch on some of the benefits of a live on position. Yes, I know that I’ve previously complained about it, and I assure you that by this time last year I did NOT want anything to do with a residence life office. I was sick of fire alarms and students knocking at my door and students walking past my windows and well, there were days that I was sick of students in general.

But living on definitely has its advantages! The main one is the price. I know my live-off friends earn slightly more than me, but not enough to make up for what they pay in rent. Not having to pay rent and utilities lets me put more towards my student loans and other debt. Also, many live-in/on positions include some sort of meal plan, so I’m also spending less on food. Some schools do require that you pay a small monthly fee, but the ones I’ve heard have always been under $100 a month.

I also don’t have a monthly utility bill. I’m okay with having “basic” cable (is that what having only 70 channels is called these days?) and I don’t use phone service (hello iPhone!) so I really don’t have to pay any monthly bills. Many of my friends in apartments and houses keep their heat set to just above freezing in order to save money. I don’t have to worry about that and I can keep my heat set to a reasonable temperature.

If you live in an expensive city, professional staff apartments are probably way bigger than anything your off campus friends are living in. While my apartment isn’t a palace, it’s larger than most of my friends’ places and definitely big enough for me.

Many people value safety when looking for a place to live. I can’t really think of a safer place than a residence halls. You have to have an access card, many have a staffed front desk, and there are campus police patrolling frequently.

My favorite part of living on (and probably the thing I will miss most) is having maintenance workers on site 24/7. If something breaks at my parents house, they have to either figure out what it is or schedule an appointment with someone. If something breaks at my apartment, I submit a Fix It or call a number and BAM problem solved.

What are your favorite aspects about living on?

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

