Girls in White Dresses

When I was younger, I thought grown ups had their shit together. I thought that I too would have my shit together as a grown up. I planned my future out as if life was like a math equation. If we do x and y, z is the result. If I go to college, I’ll get a good job and a nice apartment. If I meet a nice guy, I’ll get married and have kids. Except it doesn’t work like that. Life is not my eighth grade algebra class.

At first, I thought that I was the only one who felt like their life was in a thousand pieces. All my friends seemed to be doing the growing up thing right…getting married, having babies, and moving into gorgeous apartments with great jobs. Lately I’vee been chatting with some of my friends and there are more people out there like me. We’re poor and confused and possibly borderline alcoholics.

Since one of my goals this year involved reading more, I have been looking for books to read – but not the classics. I’ve been looking for books that were written recently. Why? Ten years ago, people could not comprehend the anxiety caused by the 800 forms of social media we use today to communicate. “He didn’t answer my text but he liked my Facebook status…WHAT DOES IT MEAN?”

Even this is outdated.

One of my favorite books I have found is “Girls in White Dresses” by Jennifer Close. The book follows a group of interconnected women in the ten years after graduating college. The book reads more like a collection of short stories rather than a traditional, linear novel. Some people on the internet complained about this. I thought it fit better…it’s honestly how my life feels sometimes. I also enjoyed that there were so many types of people represented…those that have “real” jobs, those that don’t, those that are engaged, those that are even married and having kids. From afar, a good portion of these characters seem to have their shit together and then they admit that they don’t.

Maybe that’s what being a grown up is all about. Looking like you have your shit together when you really don’t.

If you’re anywhere between the ages of 25 – 35, this book will speak to you. So many of the short stories seemed so familiar…baby showers, bridal showers. I actually laughed out loud at the description of the first wedding that a group of friends has. It was as if someone had attended a wedding I went to a few months back and then wrote about it.

I have recommended this book to so many of my friends and I honestly plan on buying copies of it for any females that I know are graduating college. Pick this one up, whether it’s from a book store, from the library, or online! (And seriously, I’m not paid to write this stuff!)

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Girls in White Dresses

  1. […] did buy someone “Girls in White Dresses” as a graduation gift. That was one book I had no problem whipping through and I want to try […]

Leave a Reply

