Throwback Thursday: A Secret Fred

Right now, I’m in the middle of putting together a series of presentations for my RAs based on the book “The Fred Factor” by Mark Sanborn. Really, you should all go out and read it. As I’m creating these presentations, I’m putting in little stories and suggestions for my future RAs.

As I was thinking of examples, I remembered something that happened my freshman year that exemplifies what a “Fred” is all about. On the morning of Valentine’s Day, I woke up to find that somebody had tied two candy bars to everybody’s door handle. Everybody had the same type of chocolate bar. Except on my door. There was a chocolate bar and a roll of Spree. Why? Because whoever had done this knew that I wasn’t supposed to have chocolate. To this day, I have no idea who did that. All I know is that it wasn’t the guy I spent most of freshman year “dating”…he returned his elementary school-style Valentine that I had slipped under everybody’s door to me torn to pieces. (Thanks for that K, glad we’re friends now!)

The point is, this person did a lot of “Fred” things. They clearly listened to me, they went out of their way to make sure I had something I could enjoy, they surprised all of us…the list goes on, all from this one action!

How many times do we stop and think about others in our lives? Time to be a commercial again. Go read this book. I don’t care if you’re a CEO at a Fortune 500 company or a janitor at your neighborhood elementary school.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

