Figuring It All Out

As I sit here writing down post ideas and scheduling updates, I’ve noticed less student affairs topics and more “life” topics. Sometimes I feel bad because this is sort of a student affairs blog and I think my readers (you guys) won’t want to read about dating or hair or clothes or friendship. But then I remember it’s my blog, I can do what I want.

The irony of all this is that I'm writing about growing up, yet including a South Park gif.

The irony of all this is that I’m writing about growing up, yet including a South Park gif.

One of my students came into my office recently and asked how old I was. When I told him 25, he goes, “Wow. More than a quarter of your life is over. How does that make you feel?” Ummm…like crap. Jerk. But really, I am feeling more “grown up” (whatever that means) this year and a lot of things around me have been changing. A lot of my friends are getting married and having babies – babies they planned, not babies of the “oops” variety. There’s a lot of stuff running through my head as I notice everything in my life changing. I used to talk it out with my friends, but they’re not here and we all have less time, so why not write about it. There’s plenty of twentysomethings in the world that feel like this, right?

So forgive me for the posts I’ve already made that have nothing to do with student affairs and I promise you there will be more posts that have nothing to do with the fact that I work for a college and sometimes act as a glorified baby sitter of young adults. But I will continue to write about student affairs, since, you know, I live where I work.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

