Why? Why Not?

Hello and welcome to my blog! My name is The Author and my goal is to update this twice a week with stories from my adventures as a new professional in the lovely world of student affairs. You can read more about me in the About The Author section.

So, I kind of got the idea to write a blog about my adventures during a quiet moment in my office. It’s summer, there’s no students on campus, and now that I’ve gotten settled in, I’ve had a few moments where I’ve found myself…bored. Don’t get me wrong. I absolutely love my job and I am sure that I’ve entered the right profession. I’ve tried starting blogs before, usually more about my life or school, but most haven’t gotten off the ground. I mean, who wants to read about school from a grad student’s perspective? “Today I had to learn ANOTHER theory of student development and then wrote a paper about it.” That does not make for the most interesting read and I am hopeful that this blog is going to be more interesting than that and is not going to be just a list of complaints.

Once I had the idea for this blog, I was suddenly re-energized. I thought of ways that writing this blog could help me as a professional. I’m going to have to stay on top of current events in student affairs. I’m going to want to look up different topics and read new books. I can also find others who blog about higher education (anybody out there?) and do some networking! This blog can essentially be part of my professional growth and development! Working on entries will also make for a nice break in between meetings or projects. Also, I’m excited to finish some of the projects I’m working on so I can talk about them on here!

Lastly, I want to use this blog to connect with other professionals. Sometimes funny things happen at work. Sometimes I have questions about different things. I want to share all these things with people. And I want to entertain people.

Happy reading and I hope you return for more stories about my time in college…past, present, and future!

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “Why? Why Not?

  1. I blog about higher ed admissions (http://collegemusicadmissions.wordpress.com/). I’m looking forward to reading your future posts!

Leave a Reply

